RRBC BOOK & BLOG BLOCK PARTY!

YAY – We have our 3 Winners!

Congratulations to:
Beem Weeks, Robbie Cheadle, and Susanne Leist
!
Woo-Hoo – Glad you won!

I will contact you and deliver your prizes right away!

RRBC BOOK & BLOG BLOCK PARTY!

Hi Everyone – and WELCOME to
Rave Reviews Book Club’s
BOOK & BLOG BLOCK PARTY
on 4/27 

You are at Lynn Miclea’s blog “Dancing Leaves”
Coming to you from beautiful, sunny Los Angeles, California

***

Enter today to win exciting prizes!!!

Here is What I’m Giving Away Today (4/27):
* $25 Amazon Gift Card
* $15 Starbucks Gift Card
* One (1) autographed paperback copy of

“Mending a Heart”

Winner may substitute any other of my books or in e-book format, if preferred
(hard copy in U.S. only, e-book to outside the U.S.)

***

Number of Winners at this stop:  3!

Everyone is eligible to enter  simply leave a comment below on 4/27, and you will automatically be entered to win. Three prizes are guaranteed to be given away  the winners will be selected at random. You never know – you could be the big winner! Good Luck!!!

***

And while you are here, I’d like to introduce you to my blog and my books! My blog is about kindness, growth, love, insights, and experiences of life.

My books are, well, about the same things!   After I retired, I discovered a passion for writing, and I have now published ten books (so far)!
Below is a brief introduction to my books.  

***

Two of my books are memoirs – one is about our family’s experience with ALS (my mom had bulbar ALS), and one is about my own journey through emergency open-heart surgery.

RUTHIE: A Family’s Struggle With ALS
A powerful and compassionate memoir about a woman’s experience with ALS. Dramatic and heart-wrenching as the author’s mother, an intelligent and beautiful woman, slowly loses the ability to speak and to eat as the disease progresses. The story includes volatile family interactions as one person who is in denial attempts to block the woman from getting the help she desperately needs. This is a personal view of this difficult illness, and the story brings you right into their lives and hearts. This book also gives advice and tips on helping people through this type of difficulty. It would greatly benefit anyone dealing with any type of progressive illness.
Link to Amazon here.

 

MENDING A HEART
A gripping and powerful story of a journey through emergency open-heart surgery. Dramatic and riveting, the author experiences profound and debilitating weakness and shortness of breath, and the symptoms continue to get worse, as her condition deteriorates. This story is an inspirational journey of strength, determination, and self-reflection, physically, emotionally, and spiritually, as the reader is brought into the author’s private world. This is a true celebration of life – gripping and heartfelt, the story is empowering and offers many insights for those who face and deal with medical crises, and is a poignant reminder of what is truly important in our lives.
Link to Amazon here.

 

Children’s Books
I have also written eight sweet, uplifting children’s books of fun animal stories about kindness, seeing the best in others, breaking through fears, believing in yourself, helping others, celebrating our differences, discovering the magnificence within all of us, and becoming more than you ever thought possible. Wonderful stories for children – and great to have in any child’s library!  These sweet books appeal to adults as well, as the meanings under the story lines, and the layers and metaphors, are enriching, powerful, and good for people of all ages. For more details on each book, see below, or visit my website here.

 

WISH FISH 1 – Two beautiful fish are happily enjoying their lives in the ocean. Can they escape dangerous large predators and avoid being captured by fishermen? What are these special abilities that defy logic and are beyond what they thought was possible? As they break through their fears and misconceptions about their own limitations, they discover a wonderful freedom and joy. This is both a love story and a celebration of life, helping all of us discover that we are so much more than we ever thought we could be. Excellent book for teaching children about joy, love, life, and kindness. The story continues with Wish Fish 2!
Link to Amazon here.

 

WISH FISH 2 – The story from Wish Fish 1 continues! Two beautiful fish face incredible new and terrifying dangers in the ocean. How can they get away from the huge jaws of a monster fish? Can they possibly help another fish heal? Join them as they break through imagined limitations, learn from a Master, and unleash their true inner joy. This is an empowering celebration of life and the magnificence within each of us, helping us discover that the possibilities are truly endless. Excellent book for teaching children about joy, love, life, and amazing possibilities. This book along with Wish Fish Book 1 makes a rewarding and uplifting gift!
Link to Amazon here.

 

PENNY GAINS CONFIDENCE“Penny Gains Confidence” is a sweet, uplifting story about a bunny who is filled with self-doubt because one leg is shorter than the other. Can she learn to face her fears, stand up to bullies, and feel good about who she is? This story inspires us to treat others with kindness and compassion, and to see the best in each other and in ourselves. This story is about celebrating and honoring our differences and imperfections, and looking beyond the surface to discover our true inner worth. This story brings smiles to kids and helps them feel great about who they are.
Link to Amazon here.

 

SAMMY AND THE FIRE – (Sammy the Dog Series – Book 1)“Sammy and the Fire” is a fun and exciting story about a sweet rescue dog named Sammy who smells smoke and knows that friends are in danger nearby. Can he reach the burning home in time to save his friends? Join Sammy as he faces his fears and discovers the true joy of helping others while rescuing friends from a fire. Filled with much warmth and humor, this sweet and funny adventure encourages and reminds us to be kind to those around us and to help each other.
Link to Amazon here.

 

 
SAMMY VISITS A HOSPITAL – (Sammy the Dog Series – Book 2)“Sammy Visits a Hospital” is a fun and entertaining story, with much humor, about a sweet rescue dog named Sammy who helps children in a hospital. Can he help children laugh and feel better? What happens when he gets lost? Join Sammy as he discovers the true rewards of helping others while having fun exploring during his silly and thrilling adventures as he brings joy to others along the way. This story helps teach kindness, helping others, and can lessen any fears about hospitals.
Link to Amazon here.

 

 

SAMMY MEETS GRANDMA – (Sammy the Dog Series – Book 3)“Sammy Meets Grandma” is a fun and entertaining story, with a lot of humor, about a sweet rescue dog named Sammy, who is brought to a senior facility to meet Grandma. Can dogs dance? Is he able to catch a squirrel? Join Sammy as he discovers a whole new world in which to explore and play at the senior facility. He has silly and funny adventures while also helping and touching the residents there, bringing life and happiness to those who need it the most and making a huge difference in their lives. This beautiful and funny story is about kindness and bringing joy to others, as we affect everyone around us.
Link to Amazon here.

 

 
SAMMY GOES TO THE DOG PARK – (Sammy the Dog Series – Book 4)“Sammy Goes to the Dog Park” is a thrilling and exciting story, and a delight to all animal lovers! A sweet rescue dog named Sammy has tons of fun at the dog park while helping others. Can he help a scared new dog? Can he find a missing friend? Join Sammy at the dog park as he is his sweet, silly, and funny self, having many crazy adventures, all while helping those around him and showing the value of kindness and compassion.
Link to Amazon here.

 

 

SAMMY FALLS IN LOVE – (Sammy the Dog Series – Book 5)“Sammy Falls in Love” is a fun and exciting story, filled with warmth, excitement, and humor, about a sweet rescue dog named Sammy. Who is hiding in his doghouse? Can he save a boy who fell into a lake? Join Sammy as he has amazing, fun adventures with a new friend and helps many lives around him while he is falling in love. Sammy is funny and charming, while showing the value of kindness, helping others, and caring for those around us.
Link to Amazon here.

 

***

My advice for new (or not-so-new) writers and aspiring authors:

  • Read a lot and write a lot. Reading helps you know what you like and what you don’t, and writing helps you develop your skills.
  • Don’t compare yourself to others. Find your own voice, your own passion, your own style, your own phrasing, and the things you want to write about. There will never be another person just like you, so be proud of who you are and develop your own unique style.
  • Use the services of a professional editor so that your work will be professional quality. You don’t want readers to get distracted by poor grammar or spelling errors or incorrect punctuation. And more than that, an editor can help with inconsistencies, flow of the story, eliminating repetitions, and fixing whatever hinders or interrupts the progression of the story, etc. A good editor is important!

***

I love reading and writing, and I hope to have even more books published this year – I sure am staying busy!!!

Please follow me and connect with me!

Please visit my website here.
Please visit and like my Facebook author page here.
Please follow me on twitter here.
Please visit my Amazon author page here.

 

And please check out my previous blog post here – it’s about loving and forgiving yourself – I think you’ll like it!

***

 Once again, thanks for stopping by – and don’t forget to leave a comment on 4/27 to be entered to win a great prize! Good luck!

Have a great day, be kind to everyone, and be loving with yourself – always remember that you are incredibly amazing, beautiful, and very special!

Copyright © 2017 Lynn Miclea. All Rights Reserved.

 

 

About Lynn Miclea

LYNN MICLEA grew up in New York and moved to California while in her twenties. A certified hypnotherapist, Reiki Master practitioner, and EFT (tapping) practitioner, with a bachelor’s degree in psychology, she spent many years working in the medical field and in various offices in an administrative capacity. She is also an accomplished musician and plays the piano at various senior facilities, where her music touches those who need it the most. After retiring in 2013, Lynn discovered a passion for writing, and she has become a successful author with ten books published. Two of her books are powerful memoirs, and eight are uplifting and fun children’s animal stories about kindness, believing in yourself, seeing the best in those around you, and helping others. Lynn believes that the best thing we can do in this world is to help each other. She hopes that through her writing, she can help encourage people to show more kindness and compassion to everyone around them. She asks everyone to be kind to each other as we all share this journey through life together. Lynn currently lives in the Los Angeles area with her husband and two dogs. For more information - please check out her website at www.lynnmiclea.com - thank you!
This entry was posted in Book Announcements and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

89 Responses to RRBC BOOK & BLOG BLOCK PARTY!

  1. Wonderful post today. Hope you draw a bunch of attention on your party stop.

  2. Staci Troilo says:

    What a wonderful collection. Wishing you much success on the tour today!

  3. What a great looking bunch of books, have a great day!

  4. I read your previous post. As I was reading it, I felt “mindfulness” whispering to me. Then, I read your “About” section and knew that I was right. 🙂 I loved the post. I am practicing mindfulness now and am helping my students to learn to love themselves exactly as they are, so it was a real treat to read that post. Thank you for directing us to it. 🙂

    I wish I would have seen your children’s books when my son was younger. They look great! Your memoir, Mending a Heart, sounds really uplifting. I will be adding that to my TBR.

    • Lynn Miclea says:

      Thank you so much for your kind comments! Yes – I love mindfulness, that is very powerful for me, and I’m so glad you picked up on that! I love what you are doing and how you are helping your students – loving ourselves exactly as we are is so important to learn for ALL of us. And starting that as children is wonderful! Good for you – you are truly helping this to be a better world. Thank you so much for your comments, I really appreciate it! 🙂

  5. jinlobify says:

    Hi Lynn, good to know you. What a great post you have! And your children’s books sound very interesting. I plan to make a series like that on my grandson. Have a great party! 🙂

  6. Awesome post and I love your book snippets. Being a children’s author is way cool! Your advice is spot on!

  7. leslie gelman says:

    Hi Lynn,
    I loved your essay. I am interested in your children’s books for my BRAND NEW GRAND DAUGHTER. And I am experimenting with a new medium for me: music slide shows of nature. I already have a video on Youtube called “Trees Don’t Pay Taxes”. Enjoy them …

    • Lynn Miclea says:

      Hi Leslie – I’m so happy you were able to get on here! And thank you so much for your kind comments. My children’s books are really great for kids – your granddaughter will LOVE them – and CONGRATULATIONS on your brand new granddaughter! That is wonderful news!!! And I love the idea of music slide shows of nature – I would really love to see that! I will look for your Youtube video. Thanks again for your comments – have a great day! 🙂

  8. harmonykentonline says:

    Oh, wow, Lynn, what a wonderful array of books! I agree wholeheartedly with your writer’s tips, and I love your closing sentiments. Best wishes with everything 😊

  9. Helen Mary Scheinert says:

    Lynn was my neighbor for several in SO CAl., Always a smile and fun. My husband and I even attended her wedding. I am big reader and anxious to get into her books. God bless YOU!!

    • Lynn Miclea says:

      Hi Helen – how nice to see you here! You were such a wonderful neighbor – we really loved both you and Al, and I hope you are doing well! Thank you so much for your kind comments! Have a great day! 🙂

  10. Best wishes, Lynn. All your children’s books sound delightful.

  11. D.L. Finn says:

    I couldn’t agree more about editing and finding your own unique voice! Your children’s book intrigued me and I got your Wish book and Sammy meets Grandma to read to my grand kids. I love to add to my collection for our reading sessions! Enjoy your party day.

    • Lynn Miclea says:

      Thank you so much for your kind comments! You and your grand-kids will love those books – thank you for getting them! The Wish Fish books are really fun and wonderful books – great choice! And Sammy meets Grandma is one of the funniest of the bunch, and one of my favorites. Thank you so much for stopping by, and have a great day! 🙂 ❤

  12. You cover a broad range of subjects in your books from open heart surgery to fun, children’s books. I’m impressed.

    • Lynn Miclea says:

      Thank you so much, you are so kind. The two memoirs (open-heart surgery and ALS) I had lived through, and those were very powerful experiences for me. The children’s books were really fun to write – these are stories I wish I had when I was a kid. Thank you so much, I really appreciate your comment! ❤

  13. rijanjks says:

    Hi, Lynn. Your children’s books look lovely. With five grandchildren, I’m always picking up new ones for them to read and enjoy. Best of luck today!

    • Lynn Miclea says:

      Hi – thank you so much for your kind comment. Wow – five grandchildren – you must stay busy! How wonderful! And with five grandchildren, it’s always good to have new books. My children’s books are sweet and funny and all about kindness, helping others, seeing the best in others, and feeling good about yourself – they would love them! Thanks so much for stopping by and for your sweet comments! Have a great day! 🙂

  14. mhembroff says:

    Wonderful post today. Enjoy your tour.

  15. Love the blog and the kids books look great! Hope you have a super RRBC blog day! MikeL

  16. Hi Lynn, I really enjoyed seeing all your works in one place. I got to know your children’s books better, because you are on my TST list for Tuesdays and Fridays. I hope you have a good party and make lots of new friends. 🐾🐾🐾😀😀😀

  17. D.E.Howard says:

    Great post and what an impressive number of books 🙂

  18. karenringalls says:

    It is so nice to meet you, Lynn and be connected. I also write about human interest/social issues/family dynamics therefore your two books interest me. Your children’s books I will explore further for my two younger grandsons and great-grandchild. Thank you for having the party today.

    • Lynn Miclea says:

      Hi Karen, it’s nice to meet you, too! Thank you for your kind comments, I appreciate it! Yes, if you are interested in human interest, social issues, and family dynamics, you would definitely like my two memoirs – they are powerful reads and bring you right into our lives and hearts. If you have grandchildren and great-grandchildren, they would LOVE the children’s books – they are easy to read, sweet, fun, funny, and exciting animal stories that bring out the best in people. And I would love to read some of what you write as well. Thank you for stopping by – have a great day! 🙂

  19. Gracie Bradford says:

    Sammy sounds like a wonderful dog to write about. Your blog page is very colorful and inviting. Glad I stopped by your party to see all the children books you have published – congratulations! Having to cope with ALS and family members in denial had to be difficult for you. The subject of your books and blog touches the life of everyone. Thanks for allowing me a glimpse of your world.

    • Lynn Miclea says:

      Gracie, thank you for your warm and kind comments. Yes, coping with ALS and family members in denial was very difficult and heart-breaking. And yes, my goal is to touch the lives of others through my writing, so thank you for that view. Thank you so much for stopping by and commenting! Have a great day! 🙂

  20. ~Mar says:

    A lovely post, Lynn! Thanks so much for sharing with us. Hope you enjoy your party day!!!

  21. Eileen says:

    You are a very busy and creative lady. Good for you.

    • Lynn Miclea says:

      Hi Eileen, how nice to see you here! Yes, I sure stay busy – even being retired, there’s still not enough time in the day! 🙂 Thank you for stopping by, and thanks for your kind comments! Have a great day! 🙂

  22. Hi Lynn, I just replied to your comment on FB. I don’t get on there enough. Glad you got things worked out. Now about your post. Wonderful showcase of your books. Children need books, and lots of them. You’ve got a few to that I’m sure most YAs will love. Glad you joined the Party and thanks for sharing. Party on!

    • Lynn Miclea says:

      Hi Larry, thank you so much for your FB comment and for your kind comments here – I really appreciate it. I agree – children and young adults need more books – especially ones that bring out the best in them and encourage kindness, compassion, and feeling good about who you are. Thank you! Thanks for stopping by, and have a great day! 🙂

  23. Linda Mims says:

    Wow Lynn, your resume is impressive. A hypnotherapist sounds amazing. That by itself is worth a page or three! Your books are going on my TBR. Have fun today!

    • Lynn Miclea says:

      Hi Linda, thank you so much – what a sweet comment, you are so kind! ❤ I'm so glad you like my books – you will love reading them! Thank you so much for dropping by and for your kind comments! Have a great day! 🙂

  24. Art guzman says:

    Lynn, YOU ROCK!

  25. Shirley Harris-Slaughter says:

    Hi Lynn, so nice meeting you in Los Angeles. I have family there and in other parts of that great state. Thank you for sharing your heart-wrenching story. I will have to add your book to my growing list of RRBC members. Good luck on your tour today!

    • Lynn Miclea says:

      Hi Shirley, nice to meet you, too! Yes, I love California – we definitely have great weather here, and it’s a wonderful place to live (other than the earthquakes)! 🙂 You are so kind – thank you so much for your sweet comment, and I’m so glad you will read my book, that makes my day! Thank you so much, and have a great day! 🙂

  26. Stephen Geez says:

    What a heartwarming post, Lynn. the memoirs intrigue me very much because many of us go along living our lives without considering that an instant can bring us news that forces us to change everything–at a time the emotional challenge is greatest. I am always intrigued by how people cope–indeed making that a theme of several of my novels. I’m also a sucker for allegorical children’s books. I love the artistry of weaving ideas in an entertaining way and supporting them with gorgeous illustrations. Children are smarter and more perceptive than many people expect, and your stories acknowledge that by showing them enough respect to put the meaning out there for them to shape in their own minds. Brava! Thanks for sharing and making me a supportive fan, Lynn. Good luck to you!

    • Lynn Miclea says:

      Thank you, Stephen, for such warm, wonderful, and supportive comments! Yes, that is true – you never know when life will change, and it’s so important to enjoy every moment that we have, and to do whatever we can while we can, and not take life for granted. Coping is difficult, but it also puts us in a position of going deep inside to find strength, stamina, insights, and perspectives that we didn’t know were there. It is life changing – and there are good things that come out of these struggles and difficulties. And I agree about the children’s books – children understand so much more than we realize. My books support that in children, helping them to see the best in others and feel good about themselves, while being kind to everyone around them, all set in sweet and funny animal stories. The stories were so much fun to write, too! Thank you so much for your kind comments, I really appreciate that! Thanks for stopping by, and have a great day! 🙂

  27. Stay busy? You don’t seem to stop. Very nice to meet you.

    • Lynn Miclea says:

      Hahahaha! Yup, I’m retired – and there still is never enough time in the day. I like it – there are always so many things I want to do each day, and it’s nice to be passionate about things. It’s nice to meet you, too! Thank you so much for your kind comments, and have a great day! 🙂

  28. Donna C Wells says:

    Lynn, you put out positive energy like a fountain. Your vision and creativity are amazing to see. So glad that we met at the DP. I need more Sammy books!

    • Lynn Miclea says:

      Hi Donna – how nice to see you here! And what a sweet, kind comment – that really makes my day! Thank you so much! ❤ I'm really glad we met at the DP too – you are one of my very favorite people! And I absolutely love your doggies, too! You would love the rest of the Sammy books – they ALL are sweet and funny and exciting and warm and loving, all at once. Please get more of them – you will love them all! Thank you so much for your kind comments, and have a great day! 🙂

  29. Great post, Lynn! Totally agree with your writer’s tips. Have a great day at the party!

  30. Hello, Lynn. That is quite a collection of works you’ve created. Congrats. I like your philosophy, kindness, compassion and encouragement. The world needs more… we all need more. Thanks for hosting a great party today.

    • Lynn Miclea says:

      Hi Fran – thank you so much for your kind comments, what a sweet thing to say! And I agree – yes, the world and all of us need a lot more love, kindness, and compassion. Thank you for stopping by and for your sweet comments! Have a great day! 🙂

  31. Wendy Scott says:

    Hi Lynn, Wow you’ve been busy! Lovely to see books with positive messages for children.

    • Lynn Miclea says:

      Hi Wendy – yes, I’ve sure been busy! 🙂 And I agree – I love writing books with positive messages for children that help them see the best in others and feel good about themselves. We need more of that in this world. Thanks for stopping by and for your sweet comments! Have a great day! 🙂

  32. kimwrtr says:

    Hi Lynn! Loved the writer’s advice and your books sound great. I have a grandson in Kindergarten. I would like to get him started reading early. Wonderful post.

    • Lynn Miclea says:

      Hi Kim! Thank you so much for your kind comments! Your grandson would LOVE the children’s books! Thanks for stopping by and for your comments! Have a great day! 🙂

  33. Micki Peluso says:

    Hi Lynn, to nice to meet you. I had two open heart surgeries and four pacemaker surgeries. The mital valve surgery actually killed me and I’m not supposed to be alive. I’m interested in reading your memoir on your experience. Mine was arrogant dr errors.with 3 of them. I just published my first children’s book and may do more. Your books sounds sound great. Looking forward to reading them. Enjoy what’s left of your party day!!

    • Lynn Miclea says:

      Hi Micki! It’s nice to meet you, too! Wow – you sure had a lot of heart surgeries! And what an experience you went through – that sounds terrifying! My surgery was to replace a faulty aortic valve. I came close to dying, but I am so glad that I survived. Yes – for someone who went through something similar, you would really enjoy my book. Glad you published your first children’s book – I will look for that! Thanks for stopping by and for your kind comments! Have a great day! 🙂

  34. Gwen Plano says:

    What a lovely post, Lynn. I’m looking forward to reading your book and getting to know you better through RRBC. Your background and interests are similar to mine…all the more intriguing! Blessings…. and hope your tour is very successful!

    • Lynn Miclea says:

      Thank you, Gwen – I like that, I’m glad we have a lot in common. I hope you love my book – I know I really loved yours! 🙂 Thank you for your kind comments, and have a great day! 🙂

  35. Lynn, I admire your productivity and versatility in your books. You are a Reiki master– I also– we have some things in common. I love tapping and the grounding it gives me. It’s so nice to meet you. I just recently joined this lovely RRBC group. Thank you for sharing your books and life’s purpose with us. I hope to get to know you more.

    • Lynn Miclea says:

      Flossie, thank you for your kind comments. I love that – we have a lot in common, and it’s nice to meet you, too. Welcome to the group – it’s a great group of talented and supportive people, who quickly become friends, and I look forward to getting to know you better. I’m so glad you stopped by – thanks for your sweet comments, and have a great day! 🙂

  36. beemweeks says:

    Hi, Lynn. I am seriously enjoying your Block Party post. Lots of interesting stuff going on. Best wishes to you!

  37. Rhani D'Chae says:

    Hi Lynn. I’m sorry I’m a little late to the party, but I sure enjoyed stopping by. I hope you have a wonderful day. 😃

    • Lynn Miclea says:

      Hi Rhani – It’s not too late – your comment is in on time, and it’s nice to see you here. And it’s never too late to stop by and say hi. Thank you so much for coming to my blog, and you have a wonderful day, too! 🙂

  38. Jan Hawke says:

    You have a beautiful blog, Lynn! I hope you have lots more fun today with everyone 😀

  39. Lynn, it’s so lovely to learn more about you and your work. Your accomplishments are truly inspiring! Bravo. Love your website too. I’ll be back for sure. Hope you enjoyed a fabulous day on the tour. Cheers! 🙂

  40. Lynn, such a great blog stop, and Ruthie sounds like such a good read to me. ALS is a disease that touches my heart. Thank you!

    • Lynn Miclea says:

      Hi Rob, thank you so much for your thoughtful comments. ALS is such a horrible disease, and I sure hope they find a cure soon. If this disease touches your heart, then you touch my heart as well, and I think you would love the book. Thanks for stopping by and for your kind comments. Have a great day! 🙂

  41. Fantastic blog and a great insight into your work. Have a fabulous party!

  42. Suzanne says:

    Great covers and a lovely blog! thank you for sharing 🙂

Leave a Reply

