Making Love to Life

WhiteRose[1]Making Love to Life

I’ve noticed that there is a huge difference between simply going through the motions of doing something, and totally getting into whatever it is you’re doing – living it, breathing it, and being present within it.

I discovered this recently when I was playing the piano at an assisted-living facility.  There are times when I just play the notes of a song and think about what chord comes next, or sometimes my mind even wanders.

And then there are times when I am much more present and focused, when I play much more than just the notes – when I play the music behind the notes – I deeply feel and get into the emotion and meaning of the song while I am playing it.  I am then overcome by IMG_1087[1]the sound of the melody, the chord progressions, the volume changes, the rhythm variations, and the meaning of the words to the song.  I get goosebumps while I play, lose my breath, and I am brought to tears.

I fall in love with it, and I am touched and moved by it.  I become intimate with the music with my heart and soul and being.  I merge with, become one with, blend and meld into it, and feel every nuance, meaning, emotion, and power of the song.  I become the song, and I make love to the music.

It hit me that this is also a way of being present, of being fully in the moment – making
love to whatever it is that you are doing.

salmonriverfalls[1]I see this also with my blogging.  I can simply write words and talk about an idea – or I can get into it, feel it, breathe it, live it, become it, and express it from the inside.

I found the same thing when I saw clients as a hypnotherapist.  Rather than just listening to them or helping them with therapy, I fell in love with my clients, and from there, I held an open, non-judgmental, compassionate space of love and acceptance, where they could express themselves freely, flower, change, grow, and simply be.  No matter what they said, I felt overwhelming love for them, and it was magical.  My interaction with them and my therapy for them became much more powerful and effective.

Daisy_in_spring_day[1]I also often see this when doing everyday activities, such as when I play with my dogs – I am brimming over with happiness and love for my dogs.  Or when I go for a walk – I am in awe of the trees, the fresh breeze, and the feeling of my muscles moving.  Or when I do the dishes – I am thoroughly enjoying the feel of the water and the sponge and the dishes being cleaned.  Or when I fold laundry – I am completely loving the smell and feel of the fresh, warm towels as they are being folded.

Rather than just doing an activity while thinking about other things, I become totally present and love whatever that activity is, thoroughly engaged and getting pleasure and joy out of doing it in that moment.  I make love to whatever it is that I am doing.

file3581272664101[1]Of course, I don’t do this all the time with everything that I do, but when I do this, I notice a lot more joy in my life, so I am now doing it more and more.  There is a tangible and powerful difference when you infuse your life with this depth of presence, consciousness, and love.

So I invite all of you to do this – focus on what you are doing, be present with it, and make love to what you do.

Wishing each of you much joy in your life.

Copyright © 2015 Lynn Miclea. All Rights Reserved.

 

About Lynn Miclea

LYNN MICLEA grew up in New York and moved to California while in her twenties. A certified hypnotherapist, Reiki Master practitioner, and EFT (tapping) practitioner, with a bachelor’s degree in psychology, she spent many years working in the medical field and in various offices in an administrative capacity. She is also an accomplished musician and plays the piano at various senior facilities, where her music touches those who need it the most. After retiring in 2013, Lynn discovered a passion for writing, and she has become a successful author with ten books published. Two of her books are powerful memoirs, and eight are uplifting and fun children’s animal stories about kindness, believing in yourself, seeing the best in those around you, and helping others. Lynn believes that the best thing we can do in this world is to help each other. She hopes that through her writing, she can help encourage people to show more kindness and compassion to everyone around them. She asks everyone to be kind to each other as we all share this journey through life together. Lynn currently lives in the Los Angeles area with her husband and two dogs. For more information - please check out her website at www.lynnmiclea.com - thank you!
This entry was posted in meandering thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

