Music Transcends Where and Who We Are

DSCF4727[1]

Music Transcends Where and Who We Are

It’s funny.  Although I enjoy it, I never thought I was good enough playing the piano.  Then again, I never thought I was “good enough” at anything.

But I also realize – the problem is not in my piano playing ability, but rather in the comparison to others.  There will always be those who play better or worse than me, as with everything in life.

And actually, we each simply play differently – we each have our own unique style of playing (or of doing anything in this world).  I admire others who play with precision, who play with a jazzy flourish, who add in all the extra notes and fancy chords to fill out and embellish the sound.

file000611873863[1]I don’t play so fancy.  I play more straight forward, but I do play with feeling.  That’s something I’ve always had – playing with a lot of feeling.  Something takes over when I play, and I shift – it becomes more than just me who is playing.

So here I was this week at the assisted living memory-care facility where I have been occasionally playing the piano, and I was playing tentatively, making mistakes, feeling very nervous, and thinking that I probably sound like crap.

But a funny thing happened – while I was playing, the residents started filing into the room and taking seats.  I started hearing some of them singing along, some of them clapping, and some of them tapping their feet.  And when I was done, although part of me wondered if they would tell me I stunk and to never come back, they shared with me how beautiful and moving it was.

file1751269292712[1]So while I compare myself to others and worry about perfection, these people were touched by the music and by the feelings that it evoked in them.  And I realize how music transcends language, limitation, memory, and the physical world.  Music touches much more deeply and awakens something in both the player and in the listener.  It comes from something much more than simply us humans.  It is something beyond.

As I stood outside today in the warm sunshine, breathing in the soft, fresh air, I realized that the same essence that creates the intense blue sky, moves the soft breeze, and imbues the citrus blossoms with a heavenly scent, also moves through me and flows out as music caressing the piano.


H.file7171261764119[1]So I now put aside my fears, my struggle for perfection, and my worries about not being good enough – and I play from my heart and from the depths of my soul.  I open and allow the beyond to come through and fill the air with music.

For I know that the residents in this facility are not interested in perfection, they simply want to hear music, to be moved, and to touch what is beyond.

So I now have officially signed up to volunteer on a regular basis to play the piano at this facility.  And I offer music especially for those residents who cannot get out and who are locked inside their bodies and minds.  I reach out and bring music – which is a flowing, liquid sound of love and passion.  And I offer it as a gift from the infinite loving divinity from which it comes, from way beyond me – to the world around me, to whoever would like to listen.  I am simply a vessel, imperfect and flawed, but what flows through is a gift of pure love.

IMG_1087[1] I invite each of you to set aside your fears and whatever constricts you, and allow yourself to be truly free.  Allow the divine essence, in however it manifests, to move through you, saturate your being, radiate outwards, and explode with love to everything around you.

And don’t worry about not being good enough.  We are not here to be perfect; we are here to share and to love.

Sending each of you music, peace, and love.

Copyright © 2015 Lynn Miclea. All Rights Reserved.

About Lynn Miclea

LYNN MICLEA grew up in New York and moved to California while in her twenties. A certified hypnotherapist, Reiki Master practitioner, and EFT (tapping) practitioner, with a bachelor’s degree in psychology, she spent many years working in the medical field and in various offices in an administrative capacity. She is also an accomplished musician and plays the piano at various senior facilities, where her music touches those who need it the most. After retiring in 2013, Lynn discovered a passion for writing, and she has become a successful author with ten books published. Two of her books are powerful memoirs, and eight are uplifting and fun children’s animal stories about kindness, believing in yourself, seeing the best in those around you, and helping others. Lynn believes that the best thing we can do in this world is to help each other. She hopes that through her writing, she can help encourage people to show more kindness and compassion to everyone around them. She asks everyone to be kind to each other as we all share this journey through life together. Lynn currently lives in the Los Angeles area with her husband and two dogs. For more information - please check out her website at www.lynnmiclea.com - thank you!
This entry was posted in meandering thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Music Transcends Where and Who We Are

  1. Eileen & Arthur says:

    Beautiful Thoughts!

Leave a Reply

