Love Transcends

IMG_1142Love Transcends – Love transcends everything – everything physical that we can see, hear, touch, smell, and taste, everything that we can perceive with our senses.

It is acceptance and appreciation of life and of who someone is.  It is not wanting to change or correct another person or have them be any different than they are.  Love is not possessive, jealous, critical, or demanding.  It is simply loving – open arms, caring, cherishing, appreciating, treasuring, accepting, and being there for someone.  Simply loving, without conditions or strings attached.

I offer that kind of love to my dad.  My dad has Alzheimer’s, and he is now in an assisted-living memory-care facility.  I visit him often – maybe three or four times a week.  He is always so happy to see me – when I visit, I can see his face light up, feel his excitement, and sense his heart open.  He is thrilled to have a visitor, especially family.

Daisy_in_spring_day[1]I usually take him out to lunch, and he gets so excited.  It is a big adventure for him – being in a car, watching the buildings go by, and looking at all the traffic on the road.  He always happily reads and announces all the street signs that we pass.

He is filled with a lifetime of memories – work, sports, hobbies, trips, trophies and awards, accomplishments, and family.  He is the person behind all that, who has lived a lifetime and done so much, and he is so much more than that, too.

file2981302715509[1]He no longer understands big words or large concepts, so I usually keep it simple for him.  I tell him how I admire everything he’s accomplished and what a great life he has led.  I mention to him all the sports he’s played – basketball, ping pong, tennis, swimming – and his eyes light up and a huge smile breaks out on his face.

I talk about all the things he’s taught me – how to ride a bike, swim, play ping pong, type, and drive a car.  I talk about all the trips he’s taken, and how he’s been all over the world.

file6741338526911[1]He is so thrilled that I know all this and that I share it with him.

I tell him how happy I am to see him and be with him.  I tell him how I look forward to having these lunches with him, and that the best part of the lunch is that I get to spend it with him.  He almost cries with happiness.

Sometimes he is rational and makes sense.  But there are also times when he is irrational, illogical, or confused.  He is often goofy and silly, like a happy little kid.

And no matter what, it is okay.  It is absolutely, unequivocally fine with me.  No matter what he thinks or feels, he is who he is at that moment.  He is himself, he is my dad, and he just is.  And I can’t ask anything else of him.

IMG_1087[1]So I simply let him be and love him no matter what he says or does.  He can be as irrational or bizarre as he wants, and it makes no difference.  He is my dad, and he simply is who he is.  And I love him.  And it’s all spectacularly wonderful.

So I tell him how handsome he looks and how my time with him is so very special.  I tell him what a joy it is to see him and be with him and that I love him very much.

And the look on his face, the joy he shows in response, is truly priceless.

file1131256655613[1]I know that this is what I am here to do at this time – to shower him with love.  For now, I am here to help make his remaining years happy.  And all I have to do is simply love him.

And I do love him – with open arms, and cherishing every moment.  Love transcends everything around us and gets to the very heart of what is.

Love is life discovering itself in a deep explosion of bliss.

Love transcends – and I am so very grateful to be part of that.

Copyright © 2014 Lynn Miclea. All Rights Reserved.

 

 

 

 

About Lynn Miclea

LYNN MICLEA grew up in New York and moved to California while in her twenties. A certified hypnotherapist, Reiki Master practitioner, and EFT (tapping) practitioner, with a bachelor’s degree in psychology, she spent many years working in the medical field and in various offices in an administrative capacity. She is also an accomplished musician and plays the piano at various senior facilities, where her music touches those who need it the most. After retiring in 2013, Lynn discovered a passion for writing, and she has become a successful author with ten books published. Two of her books are powerful memoirs, and eight are uplifting and fun children’s animal stories about kindness, believing in yourself, seeing the best in those around you, and helping others. Lynn believes that the best thing we can do in this world is to help each other. She hopes that through her writing, she can help encourage people to show more kindness and compassion to everyone around them. She asks everyone to be kind to each other as we all share this journey through life together. Lynn currently lives in the Los Angeles area with her husband and two dogs. For more information - please check out her website at www.lynnmiclea.com - thank you!
This entry was posted in meandering thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Love Transcends

  1. RenataB says:

    You are a very special person to be able to accept and forgive and to love so unconditionally and openly. It can be extremely difficult between a parent and a child but your faith and love and forgiveness have served you well and seems to brought grace not just into your life at this time, but your father’s as well. ❤

    • Lynn Miclea says:

      Thank you, Renata – that is so sweet and kind of you to say. This was not anything that I “tried” to do, it simply happened, and I guess I was just ready and open to it. And for you to see that, it is in you, too – thank you so much. ❤

Leave a Reply

