Inner Issues and Struggles

costa_rica_010[1]Inner Issues and Struggles – I have recently found myself overcome with feelings of anger and resentment, even hatred, towards someone, and wanting revenge.

And I have realized that I can’t just ignore these feelings and pretend they’re not there. I’ve tried to avoid them for a long time, but they keep coming back even stronger.  They are real, and I am feeling them for some reason.  So it’s time that I acknowledge them and honor them.  Explore the feelings, move into them and through them, and see what’s underneath and behind it all.

costa_rica_012[1]So I step back and watch myself. I see myself having these feelings.  I am a witness to it – I watch and witness myself struggling with feelings of anger and resentment and hatred.

And I find that I am overcome with so much compassion and love for myself and for what I am dealing with.  Yes – I understand, I know why you feel that way, and I understand your struggle.

I realize that those feelings are not “bad” and I’m not a bad person. It’s all part of my journey.  It’s all about the issues that I am here to work through, and that’s good.  In fact, it’s great that these issues are coming up so that I have a chance to work on them, honor them, and transform them.

_DSC0014[1]And then I look to feel and discover what’s under those feelings – and I see that underneath all of that is me feeling helpless, powerless, and worthless. Ahhh, yes, that is what is getting touched and why I am reacting so strongly and wanting to fight back.  Yes – and it really has nothing to do with the other person.

That is a breakthrough.  And what I need, and what I give myself, is more love and compassion.

file6741338526911[1]And I also know that the other person, the object of my anger, resentment, and hatred, is also dealing with her underlying issues, probably very similar to mine.

And now that I’ve stepped back out of my ego into a deeper witness state, I find that the anger and resentment are not there at that level.  And I know that she is as much a wonderful, beautiful, loving, and divine being as me, and she is simply here on her own journey of issues and discovery and growth, just like me.  And I send her love and compassion.

On a human ego level, I know we touched each other’s issues, or pushed each other’s buttons, as they say. And that’s actually a good thing – because that shows us where we need to look and where we need work and healing.  We are here to face our issues, work through them, and to learn and grow because of them – and that’s what I am doing.

DSCN0758[1]I am not doing it perfectly, and I know that these issues will keep coming up for me until they are resolved and I have learned what I need to learn from them. So in the meantime, I will do my best, watch and witness what is happening and how I am reacting, see what is underneath that, honor all of it, and love myself and the entire process.  This is so very healing.

And I send love to my adversary/teacher. I am grateful for the opportunity and the lessons, and I lovingly leave her to travel on her own journey, as I embrace mine.

file791307641638[1]May we all face our inner struggles, honor and embrace what is there, and shower ourselves, and each other, with love and compassion.

And that is where there is an opening.

We are all magnificent, divine beings, exploring life from a human perspective, on a powerful journey of uncovering, opening to, and embracing Love.

Sending each of you much love.

Copyright © 2014 Lynn Miclea. All Rights Reserved.

 

About Lynn Miclea

LYNN MICLEA grew up in New York and moved to California while in her twenties. A certified hypnotherapist, Reiki Master practitioner, and EFT (tapping) practitioner, with a bachelor’s degree in psychology, she spent many years working in the medical field and in various offices in an administrative capacity. She is also an accomplished musician and plays the piano at various senior facilities, where her music touches those who need it the most. After retiring in 2013, Lynn discovered a passion for writing, and she has become a successful author with ten books published. Two of her books are powerful memoirs, and eight are uplifting and fun children’s animal stories about kindness, believing in yourself, seeing the best in those around you, and helping others. Lynn believes that the best thing we can do in this world is to help each other. She hopes that through her writing, she can help encourage people to show more kindness and compassion to everyone around them. She asks everyone to be kind to each other as we all share this journey through life together. Lynn currently lives in the Los Angeles area with her husband and two dogs. For more information - please check out her website at www.lynnmiclea.com - thank you!
This entry was posted in meandering thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Inner Issues and Struggles

  1. A most excellent post, Lynn. It takes a brave, strong person to look inside so carefully and get to the bottom of it all (so much easier to just blame others), and to come to the other side understanding, accepting the outcome. I commend you for this. Sending love right back.

    • Lynn Miclea says:

      Thank you, Silvia – that is so kind of you, I spent many years blaming others – yes, that is easier, but it is so disruptive and antagonizing on all sides. I am very grateful that I am looking beyond that. Thank you for your sweet comment. ❤

  2. greyzoned/angelsbark says:

    Forgiveness is golden. I haven’t experienced much gold in my life….have always hung on to resentments…until lately. As I age, they seem less important and oh so much easier to let go of. Thanks for an insightful look into anger and resentment: may we all learn from your very valuable experience!

    • Lynn Miclea says:

      Thank you, Michele – you are so sweet. Yes, I agree – I have often hung on to resentments also – but things seem to shift as we get older, and that’s a great thing! You offer so much love to others – don’t forget to offer it to yourself as well! Much love! ❤

  3. athling2001 says:

    Thank you for your honesty and for reminding us what we are really here to accomplish.

Leave a Reply

