YES!

IMG_3143YES!  This is what we need to say to Life – YES!

YES means not holding ourselves back with fears or doubts or insecurities. Not letting past hurts or disappointments keep us stuck. Not staying hidden and “safe.” Not being afraid to take a chance, to try a new job, to move, to start a relationship, to take a class.

YES means moving forward with whatever life offers. It means recognizing changes, openings, and new situations, and accepting them. 1016Embracing new adventures without looking longingly back at a closed door. Seeing all the twists and turns and changes in life as new opportunities and stepping stones, rather than as impediments or obstacles.

YES means fully enjoying who we are, knowing ourselves, and honoring our unique and special gifts. YES means making the most of whatever happens, and experiencing life in all its fullness and glory.

SONY DSCYES means to exuberantly dance, sing, play, write, create, laugh, and completely be yourself. It means to embrace all of life – the good, the bad, the happy, the painful, the beautiful, the ugly, and the dirty. Because that is what we are here for – all of it. We are here to live life fully and passionately. To enjoy each moment and get everything we can from this experience here on earth. Living, rather than simply existing, means saying YES to all of that.

file791307641638[1]I was fired from a traditional job in November of 2013. At first shocked and disoriented, I soon realized that I was actually being set free. That this was a new opportunity, the proverbial window being opened when one door closed. I realized the universe was pushing me in another direction, and I could either fight it and be angry and miserable, or I could say YES and move forward into a new chapter of my life.

I chose to say YES. I now had the time and space to discover, explore, and pursue what I file3021341154406[1]was truly passionate about, even if I wasn’t aware of it at the time. But I was ready to say YES to whatever happened.

Within a few weeks, I saw an ad online for a writing class. I had not written much of anything before, not even a blog. But now I saw an opportunity, an opening – and something inside me whispered, “YES.” So I signed up for the writing class, not knowing what to expect.

Within three months, my life has completely changed. I now have an active blog with quite a few followers, I have written numerous poems and short stories, and I am currently working on my first book.

DSCN0758[1]For me, saying “YES” completely changed my life. It meant not wallowing in self-pity or staying hidden. It meant finding my passion and going for it. It meant stepping into the unknown, taking a chance, and jumping off a cliff, not knowing where I would land.

YES means even if you’re scared, do it anyway. Live with gusto, exuberance, and exhilaration. Explore, open, and see the world with wonder. Let life happen and express itself through you. Revel in and savor the DSCN0351[1]amazing lusciousness of life that surrounds you.

I’ve learned that we should say YES to whatever makes our souls sing with joy. Whatever makes us feel passionate, excited, and alive – we need to say YES to that!

YES means embracing the joy in everything there is, and feeling gratitude for what is in our lives.

YES means living fully with exuberance and gusto, with nothing holding you back.

Q.final12[1]YES means loving all of life and loving yourself.

I invite each of you to say “YES” to all of life, to be fully who you are, and to enjoy the whole journey, each and every moment.

YES!  I am here, I am ready, and I embrace it all.

Copyright © 2014 Lynn Miclea. All Rights Reserved.

About Lynn Miclea

LYNN MICLEA grew up in New York and moved to California while in her twenties. A certified hypnotherapist, Reiki Master practitioner, and EFT (tapping) practitioner, with a bachelor’s degree in psychology, she spent many years working in the medical field and in various offices in an administrative capacity. She is also an accomplished musician and plays the piano at various senior facilities, where her music touches those who need it the most. After retiring in 2013, Lynn discovered a passion for writing, and she has become a successful author with ten books published. Two of her books are powerful memoirs, and eight are uplifting and fun children’s animal stories about kindness, believing in yourself, seeing the best in those around you, and helping others. Lynn believes that the best thing we can do in this world is to help each other. She hopes that through her writing, she can help encourage people to show more kindness and compassion to everyone around them. She asks everyone to be kind to each other as we all share this journey through life together. Lynn currently lives in the Los Angeles area with her husband and two dogs. For more information - please check out her website at www.lynnmiclea.com - thank you!
This entry was posted in meandering thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to YES!

  1. Yes! I’ve learned to love the feeling I get when I say yes to something that I’m a little afraid of. It beats that old feeling of low level depression, worried that every day was going to be the same as the last. Give me change! GREAT GREAT GREAT post Lynn!

  2. greyzoned/angelsbark says:

    YES! YES, I SAY YES!!! So glad you said Yes to the writing class…or we would have never met! Great job on your blog too. You really took the Yes and kicked some ass with it! 🙂

    • Lynn Miclea says:

      Hahahaha – thank you, Michele! I submitted this “YES” post to that magazine looking for YES submissions. We’ll see what happens with it. And I agree – saying YES is the way to go through life, and you meet great friends along the way! 🙂

Leave a Reply

