U – Unemployment

ad21Unemployment – I have recently joined the ranks of the unemployed, having been unexpectedly and unceremoniously fired from my job. And it was surreal. For years, I had been given decent raises, bonuses for good performance, and much praise. I was often told what a great job I U.Blue_Thumbtrack_4229__7_[1]was doing, and how much I was appreciated and needed.

Then BAM – one afternoon I was simply told, “We have decided to let you go.” And so I had to pick up the pieces of my shattered pride, pack up all my personal pictures and knick-knacks, and turn in my keys.

Losing my job was very disorienting. As much as I was stressed, exhausted, and hated it, I was so used to my routine. I knew when I had to get up, where I had to be, and what I had to do each day.

Now, suddenly, I’ve lost that. I’m never sure what day it is anymore. I often feel like I’m late for work or should be at work. I wonder what I’m DSCF0145[1]doing home with nothing to do. I feel like I’m doing something wrong, that I should be somewhere or doing something “productive.” I have no structure, and I feel like I’m floundering.

But I am free. My time is open, and I can move at my own pace, which is slow. I no longer have to wake up early or drive in rush hour.  I don’t have to get a million things done on the weekend.

1013I lie in bed until I’m actually ready to get up.  I do errands when traffic is light. I can relax and do nothing and take naps. And then I can do more nothing.

I can savor the stillness and calmness. I can luxuriate in the peace and silence of each moment. I can gaze at the sunlight twinkling and sparkling in the pool, and let my eyes unfocus and not think. I can aimlessly watch the leaves dancing in the breeze and breathe deeply of the fresh air.

white-flower[1]I can now take the time to enjoy my life, rather than rushing through it. I can explore new talents, interests, and ideas. I can rediscover who I am. I can uncover and unleash inner passion and potential.

I have started playing the piano again. I am reading again, and I have a stack of books I can’t wait to read. I am writing for the first time – I have started a blog and am working on my first book. I can do anything I want – the whole world is open.

DSCN4598[1]From high demands and high stress, I have been released, and I feel like I am starting a whole new life.

Yes, I have lost my income, but I have gained so much more than that.

I am now free.

Copyright © 2014 Lynn Miclea. All Rights Reserved.

 

About Lynn Miclea

LYNN MICLEA grew up in New York and moved to California while in her twenties. A certified hypnotherapist, Reiki Master practitioner, and EFT (tapping) practitioner, with a bachelor’s degree in psychology, she spent many years working in the medical field and in various offices in an administrative capacity. She is also an accomplished musician and plays the piano at various senior facilities, where her music touches those who need it the most. After retiring in 2013, Lynn discovered a passion for writing, and she has become a successful author with ten books published. Two of her books are powerful memoirs, and eight are uplifting and fun children’s animal stories about kindness, believing in yourself, seeing the best in those around you, and helping others. Lynn believes that the best thing we can do in this world is to help each other. She hopes that through her writing, she can help encourage people to show more kindness and compassion to everyone around them. She asks everyone to be kind to each other as we all share this journey through life together. Lynn currently lives in the Los Angeles area with her husband and two dogs. For more information - please check out her website at www.lynnmiclea.com - thank you!
This entry was posted in meandering thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to U – Unemployment

  1. Sammy D. says:

    I’m so sorry you were treated that way. It is very difficult to experience that sudden unexpected job loss and you seem to have a healthy way of acknowledging your hurt and moving on to discover a life you might otherwise have missed.

    • Lynn Miclea says:

      Thank you, Sammy, that is so kind of you. Money is much tighter, but I am grateful for unemployment benefits. And I am glad that I’m no longer working there – the intense stress is gone, and I am now discovering a whole new world, including my own inner growth. Life always has twists and turns, and it continues to be interesting. Thank you so much for your support and your sweet comments! ❤

  2. RenataB says:

    You seemed to have turned a terrible shocking decision into something wonderful. I’ve been on the same end of the stick and can completely understand how you felt. I so love your closing line about having lost your income but finding yourself. I’m so happy for you with that. Personally, my work situation is that I have an income but have lost myself in having it. So, there’s not always a bad thing with the loss of a job. Beautiful writing as always. Love ya Lynn! ❤ 🙂

    • Lynn Miclea says:

      Thank you, Renata – you are always so kind and supportive! I was where you are – I had an income but had lost myself. And I knew it, but couldn’t see a way out. This was the universe telling me that I had enough and it was time to be set free. Hopefully you will be released too – but only when you are ready. Thank you for your comment! ❤

  3. I like how you turned your negative into a positive. The only way to go. You never know. You may make sufficient income from your writing and whatever else you suddenly find yourself enjoying to do. Best of luck to you.
    The View from the Top of the Ladder

  4. greyzoned/angelsbark says:

    Ah, the splendor of being fired! I’ve been there. Twice!! The first time this wicked witch who was threatened by me fired me and I ended up winning my unemployment case; the second time new management came in and they were “cleaning house”, making life miserable for everyone so they would quit so they could bring in their own people. But I chose to stick it out because I knew unethical management simply can’t last, right? Well, I filed a workers comp case against them and they fired me the next day. ILLEGAL to do that so I sued them! And we settled in mediation. And wouldn’t you know: the two managers both got fired a few months after they fired me. Karma! Anyway, both times I remember driving away, suddenly feeling so free. Oh there is so much to be said for freedom! And it just can’t be beat. I’m so glad that you found the beauty in the unemployment. There comes a time when, like you said, the Universe takes over and acts on your behalf and in your best interest. The way we get there isn’t always the most pleasant but once we arrive, we’re just grateful to be there. You have done fabulous AND PRODUCTIVE things with your free time. Look at your beautiful writing and all the wonderful photographs you take now. You wouldn’t be doing that if you were still working! ❤

  5. Lynn Miclea says:

    Michele, you are so sweet and kind – I love everything you said. And wow – good for you for fighting back, I am so impressed with your strength and courage in doing all that. It’s hard getting fired, as it’s a blow to your ego, and also loss of job, income, and security. But when it’s for no good reason, it’s even worse. And yes – the freedom is amazing. I actually laughed while driving home from my last day of work that day. My husband tells me I’m a completely different person now – relaxed and happy, no longer stressed out and miserable. And yes – I would never have been writing, taking photographs, playing the piano, reading – I had stopped all of that. I was an empty shell, barely existing. Life is so much better now. Thank you for your amazing comments! ❤

  6. A year ago, after 37 years, I was told my position was being terminated because of budgetary concerns. I was working part-time and not making a lot of money (which they said they needed), but it constituted one-third of my income., I have started my own online editing service, as well as offering lessons in essay writing, public speaking,and conversational English for foreign business people and students. As you say, I find that the days are mine to enjoy at home, in the garden, with my daughter, and seeing friends. I miss giving advice to teachers and the retreats that I used to attend as an adult leader, but there are other people to help in my life. The universe has a reason, and I am accepting it. Blessings on us both!

    • Lynn Miclea says:

      Thank you for your thoughtful response. Your experience is enlightening and inspirational – I love how being terminated from your position became something positive and wonderful in your life. I love what you ended up doing, and it sounds like your life became better from that. Yes, the universe has its own reasons, and accepting what happens makes everything flow easier. Yes – blessings and love for both of us. Thank you so much for sharing with me. ❤

Leave a Reply

