R – Rich

ad18Rich – When I was younger, I thought being rich simply meant having a lot of money. Which would be a nice thing to have, and one day I’d like to actually find out how nice it would be.

But I’ve learned that being rich is so much more than money. And so much better than money.

Loose ChangeBeing rich is appreciating what I already have in my life. It is a state of abundance – feeling filled up with the joy, beauty, and fullness of Life. It is feeling the love of friends and family who support me no matter what. It is having a place to live, no matter how big or small, where I feel at home and comfortable.

It is the sweet gentle kisses of my beautiful dogs. It is my husband giving me the best piece of the chicken and the biggest piece of the chocolate bar. It is being told I’m a good cook when I R.DSCN4653f[1]heat up a can of soup or throw a frozen box in the microwave. It is being told I’m beautiful no matter what I look like or how much I weigh.

It is seeing my own photographs on the walls of my home. It is feeling my fingers on the piano keys and feeling the music pour through every cell. It is gazing out at the view from my window and feeling exhilarated at the bounty of grass and trees. It is smiling at the silly ceramic dog that my mother had given me when I was sick.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAIt is looking up into the clear blue sky and feeling endless flow and radiance. It is getting lost in the deep, intense color of a flower. It is expanding out bigger than the earth when I see a brilliant, fiery sunset. It is the absolute ecstasy when eating the red-velvet-and-cream-cheese-frosted cupcake for my birthday.

It is the astounding joy each morning when I wake up and realize I am ALIVE for another day.

IMG_3133I may not have much money, but I sure am rich.

What makes you feel rich?

Copyright © 2014 Lynn Miclea. All Rights Reserved.

About Lynn Miclea

LYNN MICLEA grew up in New York and moved to California while in her twenties. A certified hypnotherapist, Reiki Master practitioner, and EFT (tapping) practitioner, with a bachelor’s degree in psychology, she spent many years working in the medical field and in various offices in an administrative capacity. She is also an accomplished musician and plays the piano at various senior facilities, where her music touches those who need it the most. After retiring in 2013, Lynn discovered a passion for writing, and she has become a successful author with ten books published. Two of her books are powerful memoirs, and eight are uplifting and fun children’s animal stories about kindness, believing in yourself, seeing the best in those around you, and helping others. Lynn believes that the best thing we can do in this world is to help each other. She hopes that through her writing, she can help encourage people to show more kindness and compassion to everyone around them. She asks everyone to be kind to each other as we all share this journey through life together. Lynn currently lives in the Los Angeles area with her husband and two dogs. For more information - please check out her website at www.lynnmiclea.com - thank you!
This entry was posted in meandering thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to R – Rich

  1. Sammy D. says:

    A lovely, joyful expression acknowledging your blessings. Heart-warming to read!

  2. I love what you wrote. I am rich in the same ways. I also know I’m rich while watching what wonderful people my children have become. 🙂

  3. Rich to me is not constantly concerned with how much is in my checking account. I have enough of a cushion to pay my bills and not have to worry about spending a little extra. When the credit card offered to raise my limit, I said No. It’s already high and I don’t want a huge bill I can’t pay off!

    Hope you are enjoying the A to Z challenge! Here’s my A to Z Post on Memorable Characters

    • Lynn Miclea says:

      Thank you for your comment, Stephanie! Yes, it’s really nice to have a cushion and not have to worry about bills. And I will check cout your post – thanks for the link! 🙂

  4. Such a nice post! I love when my husband does that same kind of thing – giving me the bigger piece of pizza, a compliment on the not so great meal I made, etc. 🙂

    Madeline @ The Shellshank Redemption
    Minion, Capt. Alex’s Ninja Minion Army
    The 2014 Blogging from A-Z Challenge

  5. Hi,
    Visiting from the A-Z and loved reading about your riches. Right now the spring blooms are making me feel very rich indeed 🙂

  6. greyzoned/angelsbark says:

    Wow, that is rich! I aspire to feel that way…and some days I do. Most days I just want to have money richness because there are so many good things I could do if I had lots of money. But I totally get what you’re saying: gratitude is the gift that supplies the riches… Great post!

    • Lynn Miclea says:

      Thank you, Michele. And I understand – it would be nice to have enough money to not worry about money, then it’s easier to appreciate everything else. But it also seems like there’s never enough money – however much we have, we always want more. So yeah, it’s good to appreciate how much we do have. ❤

  7. Hey I’m visiting from the A to Z. In perusing your posts I see that they are lovely and optimistic and, well, rich! To add to the riches of your comments, I’d say that the community that can develop among bloggers can also be rich, at least I’m finding that to be the case. I pre-wrote my posts, and so that is why I think you might be particularly interested in the post that will come on W day.. if you remember and are interested…… storytellingmatters.wordpress.com — nice to meet you Lynn! Jeri

    • Lynn Miclea says:

      Hi Jeri, nice to meet you, too – and thank you for stopping by. Thank you also for your kind comments! I also pre-wrote most of my posts, but they were rough, and they are then updated one or two days before actually posting. If you liked these, you’ll like my “S” and “T” posts, too. Yes – I look forward to reading your “W” post – and I will definitely check out your blog. Thank you! 🙂

  8. renatabu says:

    What makes me rich? Counting you as one of my friends. Beautiful post Lynn. 🙂

Leave a Reply

