Q – Quick

ad17Quick – The world seems so fast today. Everything is quick – instant messages, e-mails, computers, and faxes. We drive faster than we ever did before.  Workplaces want and expect instant results. Everything is high-speed. And that increases the demands and the stress level.

Q.file6601269351370[2]I don’t think we were meant to live at that speed of go-go-go, now-now-now, fast-fast-fast. It might be convenient for getting things done, but there is a cost for moving so fast.

We get out of sync with our natural pace and rhythms. We lose touch with when we need to rest and slow down. And we miss so much – all the little details of the world. And to me, those are the details that make life worthwhile.

Rushing about, we miss so much that fills and breathes life into each moment. Birds, flowers, and the liquid gold of a sunset. Leaves dancing in the breeze, and the look of adoration in a puppy’s eyes. I don’t Q.final12[1]want to be moving so fast that I miss those moments.

And I want to honor the soft, slow rhythms of nature and of life. When I’m not in sync with those peaceful, natural rhythms, I can feel it in my body and in my soul. I feel “off” somehow.

For me, my previous job was continually high-paced and demanding. My body and soul Q.1011cried out and yearned to slow down and move at my own pace. I spent years feeling out of sync, out of rhythm, and horribly stressed.

And then I lost my job in November 2013. And suddenly, my world slowed down. I could move at my own pace. I could watch the grass grow and hear the leaves sigh. I could savor the smell of citrus blossoms in the wind and hear the crickets play their lullabies. I could let my eyes go out of focus and not think at all. I could joyfully watch the sunlight play in the SONY DSCtrees, and I could give my dogs belly rubs. I could take a nap when my body felt fatigued. No demands, no timetables, no rushing. I could move at my own pace and just Be.

I have now settled into a slow, peaceful existence. It might take me an hour to do what I used to do in five minutes. And you know something? I like that. It feels right. I feel more in sync with everything. I like slow.

IMG_3342Life and nature move at their own pace. You can’t hurry a tree or a flower. And so it is with me, as well. I now allow myself to move at my own pace. There is no hurry. I don’t have to be quick anymore. I can be at peace. And you know what I found? Everything still gets done.

I think it’s best when we honor the natural flow and stride of life and of ourselves.

What is your natural pace and rhythm?

Copyright © 2014 Lynn Miclea. All Rights Reserved.

 

About Lynn Miclea

LYNN MICLEA grew up in New York and moved to California while in her twenties. A certified hypnotherapist, Reiki Master practitioner, and EFT (tapping) practitioner, with a bachelor’s degree in psychology, she spent many years working in the medical field and in various offices in an administrative capacity. She is also an accomplished musician and plays the piano at various senior facilities, where her music touches those who need it the most. After retiring in 2013, Lynn discovered a passion for writing, and she has become a successful author with ten books published. Two of her books are powerful memoirs, and eight are uplifting and fun children’s animal stories about kindness, believing in yourself, seeing the best in those around you, and helping others. Lynn believes that the best thing we can do in this world is to help each other. She hopes that through her writing, she can help encourage people to show more kindness and compassion to everyone around them. She asks everyone to be kind to each other as we all share this journey through life together. Lynn currently lives in the Los Angeles area with her husband and two dogs. For more information - please check out her website at www.lynnmiclea.com - thank you!
This entry was posted in meandering thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Q – Quick

  1. greyzoned/angelsbark says:

    Oh Lynn, I REALLY like this post! I love the message and the writing is beautiful. You made me want to slow down….and I’m slow already! Ha! Really love this. I read it twice just to relax into your words. Very nice flow. I actually felt my heart rate slow. Bravo!

  2. Thanks for this post. I’ve only recently come to realize that I am out of sync. I thought I was finding my slowness again, but something reminded me yesterday that I’ve not even begun. Peace.
    The View from the Top of the Ladder

  3. What is your natural pace and rhythm? I need structure. Working provides that for me. When I’m not working, I still get up at 4:30am and make some kind of outline of what I want to accomplish in my day. I’m known to lose my mind if I’m left dangling too long. Relaxing vacations are difficult for me.

    • Lynn Miclea says:

      Thank you for your comment. Yes, it is different for everyone – always honor how it is for you and what you need in order to feel good and be the best you possible. ❤

  4. Sammy D. says:

    I’m so with you on how healthy the relaxed pace is. But I’m retired so it’s easier to do; I had to be on a different pace in my career. At the time, I loved what I was doing so it was worth it. I must say, though, i think it’s a tad overkill to never be willing to leave one’s cell phone behind during leisure time!

    I’m glad you have been able to relax into a better pace for yourself. Good things come of giving that yo ourselves when we need it.

    • Lynn Miclea says:

      Sammy, thank you for your comment! Yes, it’s great to be retired and not have to worry about a fast pace. It is different when you work – but it sure helps if you love what you do, because then you enjoy it and get energy from it, instead of it being an energy drain. And I agree with you about the cell phones! Thanks – I appreciate your comments! ❤

  5. renatabu says:

    great post! I find myself slowing down to a more natural pace when I read your posts and for that I thank you!. I believe that is my natural rhythm but due to the stress and pace of my current job I am living in complete opposite of what is natural to me, but then I have blogs like yours that help me catch my breath ❤

    • Lynn Miclea says:

      Thank you, Renata! Yes, I was also at a very stressed and fast pace when I was working. It took getting fired to slow me down, and now I love this nice, quiet, slow pace. Thank you for your sweet comment! ❤

Leave a Reply

