P – Piano

ad16Piano – One of my favorite childhood memories is hearing my mother playing the piano when I was a young girl. I heard her playing classical music from before I was even born.

She taught me to play starting when I was four years old, and I’ve IMG_3618enjoyed it throughout my life. But my mom could play the piano better than anyone I knew.

I still remember lying in bed at night as a child, ready to go to sleep, and hearing my mother downstairs playing the piano. When she played, everything shifted.

I was transported to a world of liquid color, flowing and blossoming, intertwining ribbons of joy that lifted me up and made me feel P.file000611873863[1]depths and heights of nameless passion. I was somewhere else, my soul crying and laughing and dancing, painting pictures with the music.

Music changes us. The tempo can raise our heart rate and get us dancing, and it can soothe us into a relaxing trance. Without a word, it carries us outside of ourselves and opens up numerous other worlds.

P.file1561246251481[1]To this day, piano music touches me like no other instrument. I still play the piano, and it shifts me into an altered state when I do.

And whenever I hear or play classical pieces, a familiar warmth fills me from head to toe, and I can feel my mother smiling.

Copyright © 2014 Lynn Miclea. All Rights Reserved.

 

 

 

About Lynn Miclea

LYNN MICLEA grew up in New York and moved to California while in her twenties. A certified hypnotherapist, Reiki Master practitioner, and EFT (tapping) practitioner, with a bachelor’s degree in psychology, she spent many years working in the medical field and in various offices in an administrative capacity. She is also an accomplished musician and plays the piano at various senior facilities, where her music touches those who need it the most. After retiring in 2013, Lynn discovered a passion for writing, and she has become a successful author with ten books published. Two of her books are powerful memoirs, and eight are uplifting and fun children’s animal stories about kindness, believing in yourself, seeing the best in those around you, and helping others. Lynn believes that the best thing we can do in this world is to help each other. She hopes that through her writing, she can help encourage people to show more kindness and compassion to everyone around them. She asks everyone to be kind to each other as we all share this journey through life together. Lynn currently lives in the Los Angeles area with her husband and two dogs. For more information - please check out her website at www.lynnmiclea.com - thank you!
This entry was posted in meandering thoughts and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to P – Piano

  1. Four years old .. wow, that’s great. I love piano music. My husband plays, and my son a little, although the guitar is really their instrument. But, we are a very music-minded family. 🙂

    • Lynn Miclea says:

      Hi Silvia – thank you for your comment! Music is awesome for a family – it opens up worlds that logic and the left brain don’t touch. The guitar is a great instrument too – it sounds wonderful! 🙂

  2. renatabu says:

    What a beautiful piece Lynn, and such wonderful memories of your mother! I agree that music can indeed be very magical and transport us to places beyond everything. Thank you for sharing! I love how I get to know you a little bit more with each one of your posts ❤

  3. DayDreamer says:

    What a lovely way to remember your mother. My daughter learned the piano but unfortunately became bored with it and stopped, she never plays now though the piano sits waiting for her to come back to it.

    • Lynn Miclea says:

      Thank you for your comment. Not everyone sticks with the piano – she may come back to it as she gets older, or she may find other things that she likes better. But that’s good that the piano is waiting for her – and she just might do that. I have spent years not playing the piano, and then I went back to it. So you never know. 🙂

  4. greyzoned/angelsbark says:

    What an awesome tribute to your mom! How lovely that classical piano brings memories of her flooding back to you. I love to hear piano as well. My two very favorite instruments and those I love to hear the most are piano and harmonica. Beautiful piece, such melodic writing …and wonderful pictures too! ❤

Leave a Reply

