L – Love

ad12Love – For me, the most universal thing, essence, energy, life force there is, is Love. It is what flows through and within everyone and everything. It is the basic teaching and core of all religions – kindness, compassion, and Love. It is what we most want and what we offer someone else. It is universal, and it supports our very Being.

IMG_3237As a therapist, I knew that was the most valuable thing that I could offer a client – a safe, supportive place of pure Love. Even listening, reflecting back, and discussing patterns are just intellectual exercises without the Love. Any time I saw a client, I shifted into a space of Love and Compassion – a state of complete acceptance of someone exactly as they are.  A state in which we heal, thrive and blossom. A place where I saw miracles happen in my clients and in myself.

IMG_3181Relationships of any kind do not thrive without Love. It is not lust, control, or neediness. It is not wanting to change the other person. It is open and giving. It is wanting the other person happy, thriving, and fulfilled.  It is wanting the other person to have the best life possible. It is honoring and respecting the other person just as they are, and allowing them space to fully be themselves. It is helping them become even more than they thought possible. Caring about them, being there for them, and loving them when they forget how to love themselves. Holding that state of Love wherein they are whole.

IMG_3143And don’t forget to love yourself – we need to also hold ourselves in that state of Love as well, where we also can blossom and thrive and be more than we thought we could be.

I might not be able to change the world, but I can change myself. I can Love.

And hopefully that will change my little corner of the world and send ripples outward.

Copyright © 2014 Lynn Miclea. All Rights Reserved.

About Lynn Miclea

LYNN MICLEA grew up in New York and moved to California while in her twenties. A certified hypnotherapist, Reiki Master practitioner, and EFT (tapping) practitioner, with a bachelor’s degree in psychology, she spent many years working in the medical field and in various offices in an administrative capacity. She is also an accomplished musician and plays the piano at various senior facilities, where her music touches those who need it the most. After retiring in 2013, Lynn discovered a passion for writing, and she has become a successful author with ten books published. Two of her books are powerful memoirs, and eight are uplifting and fun children’s animal stories about kindness, believing in yourself, seeing the best in those around you, and helping others. Lynn believes that the best thing we can do in this world is to help each other. She hopes that through her writing, she can help encourage people to show more kindness and compassion to everyone around them. She asks everyone to be kind to each other as we all share this journey through life together. Lynn currently lives in the Los Angeles area with her husband and two dogs. For more information - please check out her website at www.lynnmiclea.com - thank you!
This entry was posted in meandering thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to L – Love

  1. Sammy D. says:

    It occurred to me, reading in the middle of your piece, that you must love yourself well in order to give love to your clients and not feel drained by it. Then I got to the end and you talked about loving yourself. That truly is the key to being able to love anything else. You’ve got to be accepting of yourself.

    • Lynn Miclea says:

      Sammy, thank you for your thoughtful comment. I actually find it easy to slip into a loving space with other people – and it’s not draining because it’s not from my ego space, it is a space beyond here. For me, it’s harder to do that with myself, but it is getting easier. I think most of us are harder on ourselves, and you are so right – it’s important to love yourself. I am getting better at this! ❤ 🙂

  2. greyzoned/angelsbark says:

    I Love the last paragraph: “And hopefully that will change my little corner of the world and send ripples outward.” So true. Very often we forget what a little bit of love will do for a person! Thanks for the reminder to love ourselves too. I find it very easy to love others (for the most part) but extremely hard to love myself. I’m very self-critical and forget that I should also love myself unconditionally. But is that possible?? I think not. Dogs have that unconditional thing cornered! 🙂

    • Lynn Miclea says:

      Thank you, Michele. Yes, I think every little bit that we do does change the world around us and can make a huge difference for someone. And I agree – sometimes it is harder to love ourselves – we are usually so critical of ourselves, which is something we all need to work on. Yes, dogs definitely have this down – they are fur-covered love. ❤

  3. renatabu says:

    Lynn, what a beautiful comment, “I might not be able to change the world, but I can change myself. I can Love.” It all does begin with us, doesn’t it? Thank you…. Knowing you has definitely made an impact on me, so know that your ripples have gone cross country!

    • Lynn Miclea says:

      Oh, Renata – thank you so much for your comment, that really means a lot to me. ❤ And knowing you has really helped and changed me, also. Thank you. ❤ And I agree – if everyone just changed themselves instead of trying to change other people, this entire world would shift. 🙂

  4. So true on relationships of any kind — they die very quickly of become forced (and who wants that) without love. Great post, Lynn.
    Silvia @
    SilviaWrites

  5. Lovely post. I don’t understand how people can NOT love when it is all around us. All one has to do is reach out….to nature, to animals, to other people…..and WHAM! There is is.

    • Lynn Miclea says:

      Thank you for your sweet and thoughtful comment. I agree with you, love is all around us, but sometimes I think people are too busy to see it. You sound like such a loving and special person – I wish there were more people like you. Thank you for sharing your thoughts! ❤

Leave a Reply

