I – Identity / I Am

ad09Identity/I Am – What is my identity? Who am I? We often think of our identity as our role in life – as husband or wife, father or daughter. Or as what we do for a living, as though our job defines us.  But then what happens when those roles change? What if you get divorced or lose your job? Who are you then? Has your identity changed? What words do you place after “I am…”?

I.Micah'sphotos_873[1]I am not my body, my hair, or my clothes; those are things I have, not who I am.  I am a wife, but that is simply one role of many, and not who I am. I have lost my previous job, but that has nothing to do with my identity.  I am much more than the descriptions that I sometimes want to box myself into.  My personality, intelligence, talents and abilities are traits that I was born with and/or developed, but those are not who I am. My thoughts, wisdom, and perspective all have evolved and changed over time. And none of those are my identity, either.

DSC_0045000512[1]Maybe our identity is who we are behind those roles and labels, behind even our thoughts. Who is the one doing the thinking? Who is the one reading these words? Who is the one wanting to grow and evolve? Who is the one behind your intelligence, humor, and abilities? Who is the one asking the questions? Who are you really?  I Am…

file000184149642[1]My identity seems to be so much more than what appears on the surface, and endlessly more than who I think I am in this human lifetime. It seems to reach into untapped depths of my soul, into a bottomless opening.  Who am I before I was born?  And who am I after I die?  Who am I now?

To me, my identity seems to be more in line with a force, a presence, a consciousness. A Being, a life-force behind everything. Something that flows through me and radiates out of me. Something that expresses itself in me, through me, as me, but is so much greater than me. Maybe nothing follows “I Am…” Maybe it’s simply I AM.

I.theresa_797_pe[1]Over the past couple of years, I have had a rather strange experience regarding my identity. There were moments when I saw pictures of other people, whether in a photo album or on facebook, when I felt confused as to whether I was looking at me or at someone else. Even when I knew that the picture was of someone else, it still felt like I was looking at myself. And each time that it happened, I would look multiple times, and I knew that it couldn’t be me, but it sure felt like me.

When that happens, it is somewhat disorienting, but it actually feels so amazingly warm, human, connected, and comforting. It feels so good deep inside, that it makes me laugh. It is a feeling that we are so similar and so alike that we are the same under it all, we are connected, and we are one and the same.  It feels like it doesn’t even matter who is in the picture – you are me, and I am you, and we file6931245178661[1]are the same. I feel your feelings, I know your thoughts, I share your being-ness. I know you. Way down, deep inside, it is you and me.

It is us, we are one, and we are Love.

I AM.

 

Copyright © 2014 Lynn Miclea. All Rights Reserved.

About Lynn Miclea

LYNN MICLEA grew up in New York and moved to California while in her twenties. A certified hypnotherapist, Reiki Master practitioner, and EFT (tapping) practitioner, with a bachelor’s degree in psychology, she spent many years working in the medical field and in various offices in an administrative capacity. She is also an accomplished musician and plays the piano at various senior facilities, where her music touches those who need it the most. After retiring in 2013, Lynn discovered a passion for writing, and she has become a successful author with ten books published. Two of her books are powerful memoirs, and eight are uplifting and fun children’s animal stories about kindness, believing in yourself, seeing the best in those around you, and helping others. Lynn believes that the best thing we can do in this world is to help each other. She hopes that through her writing, she can help encourage people to show more kindness and compassion to everyone around them. She asks everyone to be kind to each other as we all share this journey through life together. Lynn currently lives in the Los Angeles area with her husband and two dogs. For more information - please check out her website at www.lynnmiclea.com - thank you!
This entry was posted in meandering thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to I – Identity / I Am

  1. rolandclarke says:

    I am evolving as you are… I sense that evolution of the identity can help us all. Once again thanks for the deep thoughts

  2. Sammy D. says:

    Lynn – your last two paragraphs were real stunners. Wonderful feelings and I will look at those sensations more closely because it IS about connections. I think of my identity as being most authentic when I see who I am by myself.

    • Lynn Miclea says:

      Thank you, Sammy! I agree – I think we are all more connected than we realize. And I love that – we are more authentic when by ourselves, I agree. We are then less likely to be influenced by anyone or try to please anyone, we are just who we are. ❤

  3. daniheart21 says:

    I like the connection of seeing ourselves in others. 🙂 I am always a poet. I am many things, but I am always a poet, no matter what I do for a living, or who I am married to, or whether or not I have children. 🙂

  4. greyzoned/angelsbark says:

    Nice! We are all connected, we are all love. So much of our (mistaken) identities are wrapped up in our roles and then we pigeonhole ourselves so that the role becomes who we are. But that is not truth. That is another I word: Illusion. When we can climb down out of the role rollercoaster and come to terms with being just I am period, what a wonderful world we would live in! It would be so much more peaceful and loving. Great post Lynn! Very thought-provoking…

    • Lynn Miclea says:

      Thank you so much, Michele! Yeah, it’s so easy to get caught up in the current roles in our lives. It really helps to take a step back out of those roles and just Be. Thank you! ❤

  5. sjp says:

    A deep and true philosophy, our material items and external connections are just how we choose to portray, we cant paint our whole soul with a pair of shoes or how we speak or who we know.

  6. I think, if asked who I was, the first thing I’d say is a writer. It’s always been a part of me, and I imagine always will be. But that’s not all who I am. I think we just live in a world that’s focused on our accomplishments, and not so much our emotional and mental innards (haha, what a weird way to express that. 😛 )

    • Lynn Miclea says:

      Jennifer – I agree with you. A lot of these descriptions about ourselves are part of who we are, but not really our identity. And you’re right – this society and world focuses on our accomplishments, and also our possessions and money. But yes, our emotional and mental “innards” (I love that!) are much more important. Funny, too! Thanks for your comment! 😀

Leave a Reply

