H – Honoring the Gift Inside

ad08Honoring the Gift Inside – It amazes me how much people can blossom when you honor what is within them regardless of their circumstances.

One summer afternoon, many years ago, while I was volunteering at the children’s ward of a psychiatric hospital, I heard a boy, maybe 10 years old, playing the piano. “I like what you’re playing,” I told him. “You’re very good.”

H.file9341299417995[1]He glanced up at me, smiling shyly. “Can you play the piano?” he asked me.

I sat down on the bench and played one of my favorite classical pieces. The boy’s eyes got big as he listened. “I want to learn that,” he said simply.

“I don’t have any music books here,” I told him.

H.file000611873863[1]“That’s okay, I can learn. Play the beginning again.” And I did. “Now let me try,” he said, sitting on the bench. And he repeated what I had played almost perfectly. I helped him with a few of the notes, and then I played more of the piece.

Wow – what a gift he had!  This boy astounded me. Without music to follow, without any prior lessons, and without even knowing the names of any notes or chords, he listened and watched my fingers, memorizing all the notes and hand positions, and playing back whatever I played. Impressed and intrigued, I taught him more and more of the piece, and he soaked up and absorbed whatever I showed him.

H.file7171261764119[1]A few short weeks later, he gave a piano recital in front of the entire ward. This shy 10-year-old boy, who never had a piano lesson before, performed the entire first movement of Beethoven’s Moonlight Sonata, almost perfectly.

What a gift and talent for music this boy had within him! And what a joy to honor that gift. It didn’t matter where he was or why he was there. There was magic within him that simply needed love and validation to blossom.

file791307641638[1]I hope he is still passionately expressing his gift.

And it’s a great reminder for all of us to honor the gifts and beauty within each other, and within ourselves, regardless of anything on the outside.

Each of us has amazing gifts within us waiting to be expressed.

Copyright © 2014 Lynn Miclea. All Rights Reserved.

About Lynn Miclea

LYNN MICLEA grew up in New York and moved to California while in her twenties. A certified hypnotherapist, Reiki Master practitioner, and EFT (tapping) practitioner, with a bachelor’s degree in psychology, she spent many years working in the medical field and in various offices in an administrative capacity. She is also an accomplished musician and plays the piano at various senior facilities, where her music touches those who need it the most. After retiring in 2013, Lynn discovered a passion for writing, and she has become a successful author with ten books published. Two of her books are powerful memoirs, and eight are uplifting and fun children’s animal stories about kindness, believing in yourself, seeing the best in those around you, and helping others. Lynn believes that the best thing we can do in this world is to help each other. She hopes that through her writing, she can help encourage people to show more kindness and compassion to everyone around them. She asks everyone to be kind to each other as we all share this journey through life together. Lynn currently lives in the Los Angeles area with her husband and two dogs. For more information - please check out her website at www.lynnmiclea.com - thank you!
This entry was posted in meandering thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to H – Honoring the Gift Inside

  1. Sammy D. says:

    You gave him such a gift and received one in return!

  2. Amazing story! And you shared your own gift.

  3. greyzoned/angelsbark says:

    Wow, what an amazing story. I could see this being made into a movie. What an extraordinary gift this boy had and then extraordinary you came along and gave him the gift of expression. Wow. I know what that’s like to be witness to someone playing by ear. My mom plays organ by ear. She doesn’t know how to read music. She’ll just hear something and then can go play it. Amazing to see, isn’t it? Great post. Beautifully written too. Super nice flow.

    • Lynn Miclea says:

      Thank you, Michele – I appreciate that! I was so impressed with this kid who simply memorized the hand positions, it was amazing. He had a gift, and he was also very motivated and passionate about it. That’s great that your mom can do that – what a great talent. I can read music, and I also play by ear – fun to do. Thank you for your comments! ❤

  4. thelmaz says:

    Lovely story and great reminder to follow your heart. Visiting from the Challenge. Hope you’ll visit back. http://www.widowsphere.blogspot.com

  5. Found you through the A-Z Challenge. Its amazing what people can achieve if they want to do something badly enough. He definitely has a talent for music as not many people could do what he did without music and just playing from memory.

    Sean at His and Her Hobbies

  6. JoJo says:

    What a great story! I wonder whatever happened to him and if he remembers it too. He must.

    • Lynn Miclea says:

      Thank you for your comment – I have wondered the exact same thing. I hope he remembers this and that it’s a special memory for him, as it is for me. I hope he is still playing the piano. I don’t remember his name, so I cannot contact him, but I wish I could follow up. Maybe he’ll see this post. 🙂

Leave a Reply

