G – Going Gloriously Gray

ad07Going Gloriously Gray – Well, I have finally decided to stop dyeing my hair. I have chosen to go gloriously gray, in all my natural brilliant shimmering tones of silver and white. That may not sound like very important news to blog about, but it’s fairly major to me.

gray 5It means I am no longer trying to impress others, keep up with the pack, attempt to look younger, or be something I’m not. I no longer need to pretend I am younger than I am. I am willing and choosing to be here in all my glorious grayness, whether or not I look older. I don’t care. And that is so exhilarating and freeing.

It can be difficult in this society, where youth and beauty are worshipped, to let my hair go gray. But I am now making different choices and I simply don’t care if that does not meet up to anyone else’s standards. It meets my standards, and that’s what is important.

gray 2I now choose to no longer put harsh, toxic chemicals in my hair (which get absorbed into my body), and to no longer pay for that on top of it. I just want to be who I am.

And I am actually excited by this, and I cannot go gray fast enough.

I am also looking forward to matching my husband, who has silvery-white hair.

G.file3781312715641[1]Going gloriously gray, strikingly silver, or wonderfully white – I look forward to the new true me, just as I am.

Be proud of who you are!

Copyright © 2014 Lynn Miclea. All Rights Reserved.

About Lynn Miclea

LYNN MICLEA grew up in New York and moved to California while in her twenties. A certified hypnotherapist, Reiki Master practitioner, and EFT (tapping) practitioner, with a bachelor’s degree in psychology, she spent many years working in the medical field and in various offices in an administrative capacity. She is also an accomplished musician and plays the piano at various senior facilities, where her music touches those who need it the most. After retiring in 2013, Lynn discovered a passion for writing, and she has become a successful author with ten books published. Two of her books are powerful memoirs, and eight are uplifting and fun children’s animal stories about kindness, believing in yourself, seeing the best in those around you, and helping others. Lynn believes that the best thing we can do in this world is to help each other. She hopes that through her writing, she can help encourage people to show more kindness and compassion to everyone around them. She asks everyone to be kind to each other as we all share this journey through life together. Lynn currently lives in the Los Angeles area with her husband and two dogs. For more information - please check out her website at www.lynnmiclea.com - thank you!
This entry was posted in meandering thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to G – Going Gloriously Gray

  1. I think it’s a great choice. Helen Mirren flits between a nice grey and a blonde colour. Feel happy with who you are. It should be everyone’s aim in life. 🙂

  2. That’s awesome. I hope you go grey super fast (not something I ever imagined myself saying LOL). I love dyeing my hair to all sorts of wild colors but lately I’ve stopped — because I have this beautiful streak of grey right in front that I don’t want to cover up LOL So I know what you’re talking about. Kinda. 🙂

    • Lynn Miclea says:

      Thanks – your gray streak sounds gorgeous! And I know, I’ve been thinking about this for a long time, going back and forth. I am finally ready. Don’t be afraid to be who you are! 🙂

Leave a Reply

