C – Challenges

ad03Challenges

 

 

 

C.IMG_3595I have come to realize that many of life’s opportunities for our greatest growth and improvement are cleverly disguised as challenges.

We don’t always realize it at the time, but we often see it later, after we have recovered and healed from our struggles. We then discover that we have grown, that we are not the same person we were before the difficulty, and that we now are more.

C.DSC_4399_Iván_Melenchón_Serrano_MorgueFile[1]And even when I don’t see it yet, I am now trusting that whatever my struggle is, no matter how much I hate it at the time, I am growing and becoming better.

I have also seen that life has given me so many of the same challenges over and over. It used to make me feel like a victim. And I would keep saying, Why is this always happening to me?

C.file6991299615715[1]Looking back, I have learned that in each of those instances where I felt like a victim, every one of those challenges was an opportunity for me to change.  For me to do something different, to choose something else, to be something new, to change my own behavior. To say no, to stand up to it and confront it, to set boundaries, to walk away, to let someone go… I did not have to accept it any longer. I could change my attitude, my perception, my reaction, my behavior. It was me that needed to change, not the outside world.

C.Painted_Background_014[1]And all of it was to help me grow so that I would not remain stuck in an old pattern, in a rut that was just getting deeper. And we are given the same challenge, lesson, and opportunity over and over until we learn it. I am still learning many of the same lessons, and I will continue to do so until I have really learned them.

So now I look at the recurring patterns. If I want something different, it is not out there, the pattern is in me, and it is me who has to change.

C.file7131297827783[1]And even though I may still hate them at the time, I am grateful for all of my challenges.

Have you also found this? Are you grateful for your challenges?

Copyright © 2014 Lynn Miclea. All Rights Reserved.

 

About Lynn Miclea

LYNN MICLEA grew up in New York and moved to California while in her twenties. A certified hypnotherapist, Reiki Master practitioner, and EFT (tapping) practitioner, with a bachelor’s degree in psychology, she spent many years working in the medical field and in various offices in an administrative capacity. She is also an accomplished musician and plays the piano at various senior facilities, where her music touches those who need it the most. After retiring in 2013, Lynn discovered a passion for writing, and she has become a successful author with ten books published. Two of her books are powerful memoirs, and eight are uplifting and fun children’s animal stories about kindness, believing in yourself, seeing the best in those around you, and helping others. Lynn believes that the best thing we can do in this world is to help each other. She hopes that through her writing, she can help encourage people to show more kindness and compassion to everyone around them. She asks everyone to be kind to each other as we all share this journey through life together. Lynn currently lives in the Los Angeles area with her husband and two dogs. For more information - please check out her website at www.lynnmiclea.com - thank you!
This entry was posted in meandering thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to C – Challenges

  1. greyzoned/angelsbark says:

    So true. Great commentary on patterns! And we do keep repeating the same mistakes until we WAKE UP! Do you believe in soul journeys? I believe that our soul keeps coming back to work out the issues we didn’t work out in our previous lives. do you think that?

    • Lynn Miclea says:

      Michele, yes, I do believe in soul journeys and coming back to work out our issues. And this is the place to do that work – I’m trying to work out as many issues as I can this time so I won’t have to keep coming back to repeat them. But of course, there will be other issues. 🙂

      • greyzoned/angelsbark says:

        And here’s something you can relate to: we so often question why do our dogs’ lives have to be so short. We get 10, 12, if we’re lucky 15 years with them, which all go by in a flash and we are crushed when they go, angry and sad that it is a truth that our dogs are only with us for a short time. I heard — and I so believe this to be true– that dogs’ lives are so short because they’re already perfect and they don’t have to work on themselves! 🙂

      • Lynn Miclea says:

        Michele – I’ve heard that too! I heard that people are here for a long time because we need to learn how to love. Dogs already know how to love, so they don’t need to be here as long. So true, and so beautiful! We can learn so much from them! ❤

      • greyzoned/angelsbark says:

        Indeed!

  2. renatabu says:

    This is great Lynn and an important message. The universe has a way of putting things in front of us with increasing number of times and intensity until we recognize the message and pattern. Great that you’re seeing the patterns now.

  3. gapark says:

    Your writing is gorgeous. So lyrical and honest. It is pure and resonates with something deep in me. I just read the post on Animals and I feel that same way but you said it so much better than I could. Thank you!

  4. Bavani says:

    This post really resonates with me. Like you and Michele, I totally believe in the need for the soul to repeat its process until it has learned that particular lesson. But it is tough, tough, tough. I too am trying to see through and beyond my challenges to find the lesson. Thank you 🙂

    • Lynn Miclea says:

      Thank you for your heart-felt comment, Bavani. I know, it is tough for me too. I guess that’s what gets us to struggle with it and muddle our way through it. If it was easy, we wouldn’t bother. But yeah, it is hard! But worth it. 🙂

Leave a Reply

