I Love You

heartBokeh[1]“I Love You.” A phrase we feel moved to say to someone we love, and a phrase we long to hear from another person.

But have you ever tried saying it to yourself? I’ve heard that if you face yourself in the mirror, look yourself in the eyes, and say, “I Love You” to yourself, it will start to affect things in your life. I’ve heard that if you do this every day, you could see and feel amazing changes happen. They even suggested that you try doing this while (cough) naked.  I am not that brave.

Okay, so I thought I’d try this. But, ahem, definitely not naked. I went to the mirrored closet door in my bedroom, and I’m glad it was dusty so I didn’t even see myself that clearly. And at first I couldn’t even say it. I looked at my image and tried not to look for blemishes. Say it, I thought. And both of me, the speaker and the recipient, knew that I didn’t mean it. Without even saying it yet, I knew I didn’t mean it. Who am I kidding, I thought. But okay, let’s try it anyway.

DSCN9703[1]I looked at myself, feeling self-conscious, even in front of my own reflection. After about five minutes of staring at my dusty likeness, my eyes dropped to the image of my lips, and I finally mumbled, very quietly, “I love you.” What? I didn’t hear you. I said it again. What? This time I looked myself in my dusty eyes and said more clearly and more audibly, “I love you.” And my image looked back at me, mocking me. No you don’t, it said. You’re just saying it, but you don’t mean it (it knows me way too well).

So I stepped slightly to the side where there was a little less dust on the mirror, and I tried it again. “I love you,” I said a little louder. I didn’t know if I meant it or not, but it felt a little easier. I said it again. Was there a smile there starting in my eyes? I said it again, more passionately.

file3581272664101[1]“I love you,” I stated firmly. “No matter what you do, what you say, what you weigh, what you look like. I love you and I will never stop loving you.” My image smiled back at me. “I love you more than you can possibly imagine. And I’m going to tell you this every day.” I looked at my reflection and saw light dancing in my eyes.

file9571346985888[1]It’s now been three days. I am still looking in the mirror and saying it, and I even found a mirror with less dust on it so I can see a little more clearly. It does get easier and more comfortable, and I don’t feel as foolish as when I started. I’m now actually looking forward to this little clandestine tryst I’m having with myself. And I think I’m actually starting to believe the words, too. I’m totally getting into it on the saying end of it, but I’m having a harder time on the receiving end. But I’m getting there. And I think I will keep saying it until I believe it fully and completely on all sides and it won’t even matter anymore whether I say it or not, I’ll just know it.

But for now, it matters. And I will say it for as long as it takes.

Have you said “I Love You” lately? To yourself?

Copyright © 2014 Lynn Miclea. All Rights Reserved.

About Lynn Miclea

LYNN MICLEA grew up in New York and moved to California while in her twenties. A certified hypnotherapist, Reiki Master practitioner, and EFT (tapping) practitioner, with a bachelor’s degree in psychology, she spent many years working in the medical field and in various offices in an administrative capacity. She is also an accomplished musician and plays the piano at various senior facilities, where her music touches those who need it the most. After retiring in 2013, Lynn discovered a passion for writing, and she has become a successful author with ten books published. Two of her books are powerful memoirs, and eight are uplifting and fun children’s animal stories about kindness, believing in yourself, seeing the best in those around you, and helping others. Lynn believes that the best thing we can do in this world is to help each other. She hopes that through her writing, she can help encourage people to show more kindness and compassion to everyone around them. She asks everyone to be kind to each other as we all share this journey through life together. Lynn currently lives in the Los Angeles area with her husband and two dogs. For more information - please check out her website at www.lynnmiclea.com - thank you!
This entry was posted in meandering thoughts and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to I Love You

  1. Jasmine I. says:

    As I was once told, “You want to find the love of your life? Look in the mirror”. A sweet revealing of the inner you, Lynn – thanks for sharing. Warm hugs

  2. greyzoned/angelsbark says:

    We should all do this, all the time! What a great planet we would have if we all loved ourselves more. I’m one of the guilty ones but you’ve just inspired me to start doing it. I know it will make a difference. Thanks Lynn!

    • Lynn Miclea says:

      Thank you for your kind and thoughtful comment. Saying these words does make a difference – and I have now changed the words to “I Love Me” – it feels more comfortable, and I like to feel like one person and not two. 🙂

  3. Jamie Barone says:

    Beautiful, Beautiful, Beauty-Full! I Love your honesty and beauty in every word. This is something that most of us have struggled with at some point in our lives, and it’s not even about what we look like (most women have self-esteem issues), rather, it’s about how “we see ourselves.”

    If we were to look into the eyes of a child, would we possibly have such a difficult time telling them how much we Love them? I think not. Would we possibly Love them less based on how they look or any else? I think not. Well, we deserve to Love ourselves in this unconditional way as well. We deserve nothing less than to completely, unconditionally, Love ourselves. Indeed…

    Thank you for sharing!! This touches the hearts of all who struggle to look at their own image and whisper “I… Love… YOU.”

    • Lynn Miclea says:

      Thank you, Jamie – I really appreciate your comments, and I totally agree with you. We so easily offer love and compassion to others, and we need to do that for ourselves as well. You are inspirational and help to show us how to do this with a true, loving heart.

  4. Shari bangsund says:

    This is my favorite thing you have written Lynn. It flowed, it was real, and dang it, I’m going to do it too!

    • Lynn Miclea says:

      Thank you Shari for your kind comment. I have now changed the words to “I Love Me” – it feels more comfortable and more united, like I’m one person and not two. 🙂

  5. renatabu says:

    Wonderful! You’ve tapped into something beautiful. I adore the imagery of the dust and your reflection and how it gets easier to say with more time and less dust :-). No, I haven’t said it lately to myself. I’m great at telling others but not me. Beautifully written Lynn. Thank you for letting me in to your world ❤

    • Lynn Miclea says:

      Thank you, I appreciate that! Yes, it’s so easy to say this to others, and harder to say it to ourselves. And I think we need to hear it the most – we need to take the time to truly love and appreciate ourselves, and to show ourselves kindness and compassion. Thank you for your comment!

  6. Damyanti says:

    Yes, I do, from time to time. I try and treat myself as I treat my best friend, with compassion. Otherwise I tend to be too hard on myself, and things don’t work very well in my life.

    Stopping by to welcome you on board the A to Z Challenge April 2014.
    Look forward to your challenge posts!

    Damyanti
    #atozchallenge co-host
    Twitter: @AprilA2Z
    #atozchallenge

    • Lynn Miclea says:

      Thank you for your comment! I know what you mean – and good for you for treating yourself with compassion and love. I agree – it is so easy for most of us to be hard on ourselves, and we ALL deserve love and compassion, especially from ourselves.

      And thank you for welcoming me to the A-Z challenge. Now I have to be compassionate with myself on that challenge… 🙂

  7. anxiousgeek says:

    I don’t think I could do it. Not because I don’t feel it but I struggle to express myself in spoke word anyway.

    • Lynn Miclea says:

      Thank you for your comment. If you don’t like the spoken word, maybe you could write it to yourself. You could write “I Love Me” or “I am special” or “I am an amazing person.” I don’t think it matters whether it is spoken or written, as long as we say it to ourselves in some form. Find what works for you best – whether spoken or written. Always be loving to yourself!

  8. Hmm… I should try that.
    I think the words would have a hard time coming out.

    anna
    Have a theme for A to Z? Reveal it with us on March 21!

    • Lynn Miclea says:

      Thank you for your comment. Yes, for me, it was really hard getting the words out at first, and the words felt fake and forced. But after a little time, the words came easier. I have now changed the words to “I Love Me.” You can try variations – like “You are special.” Anything positive is a step in the right direction! Just don’t give up on yourself!

  9. gapark says:

    wow. Powerful. So glad I found you. This post brought me to tears. I guess that means I need to practice this exercise. Scary.

Leave a Reply

