Letting Go

IMG_1683

Letting Go – It seems that life is a process of Letting Go – letting go of what is no longer serving us and what is not in our control, so that we can truly embrace what is.

I have learned to let go of the need for things to be a certain way, the need for approval, and the need to be perfect. The need for everyone to like me. None of that is even beneficial, if we were to really get it. And with letting go of that, I have found that I am more able to accept the way things actually are. I have found that I am more in the flow of life rather than fighting it, and I have found more peace.

IMG_2402

I had to let go of a marriage and the man I loved back in the 1980’s. That had to be one of the most painful things I ever had to do. Our lives and hearts were so entwined, it was difficult to separate who each of us was. And the tearing apart of those bonds tore apart pieces of our very being. Of course, I was so deeply enmeshed that I had completely lost myself. I lived to try to please him, and I did nothing on my own. Over time, I ceased to even exist outside of him. So although that was one of the most horrifically agonizing and difficult things to do, I finally did let go. And I slowly started discovering myself, and my own heart. I learned to be a full person on my own, and I learned that I was enough, even all by myself.

I’ve had to let go of many employment jobs over the years. Some of those were very difficult to let go, and I didn’t know what I would do next. But I have discovered that as you move forward, the path somehow opens up in front of you, and each job and each experience has enriched and opened me in ways that I could not have foreseen. After letting go of my last job (cough, okay, I was fired), I have discovered much-needed peace and a passion for writing, which has opened up a whole new world for me.

IMG_1796

I have learned to let go of much hurt, anger, resentment, and the desire for revenge. I have realized that all of those feelings hurt nobody but me. And I discovered that forgiveness is a process of letting go so that it frees me from holding onto and carrying that stuff around with me.

I have learned to let go of needing to be right, and I have learned to place peace and reconciliation first. I’ve learned to honor and respect the other person’s views, whether I agree with them or not. Ultimately, there is no “right” or “wrong,” it’s all just varying perspectives and opinions and filters and beliefs, and they are all valid. I would rather listen to everyone’s opinions, and then decide what’s right for me, let go of the rest, and allow my own truth to settle into me and find its way home in my heart without having to prove anyone else “wrong.”

IMG_1791

And I’ve come to realize that in Letting Go, I am actually letting go of the parts that are not who I am, not authentically me. I am letting go of the extra layers and masks and needs and walls and fears and armor and protection which I never really needed to begin with. And the more I let go, the more those layers dissolve, I am opening to more of me. I am actually freeing myself, who I really am. I am letting go of everything that is not me.

By letting go, I have found me, and I have discovered that I am enough.

file3521254236636[1]

Copyright ©2014 All Rights Reserved

About Lynn Miclea

LYNN MICLEA grew up in New York and moved to California while in her twenties. A certified hypnotherapist, Reiki Master practitioner, and EFT (tapping) practitioner, with a bachelor’s degree in psychology, she spent many years working in the medical field and in various offices in an administrative capacity. She is also an accomplished musician and plays the piano at various senior facilities, where her music touches those who need it the most. After retiring in 2013, Lynn discovered a passion for writing, and she has become a successful author with ten books published. Two of her books are powerful memoirs, and eight are uplifting and fun children’s animal stories about kindness, believing in yourself, seeing the best in those around you, and helping others. Lynn believes that the best thing we can do in this world is to help each other. She hopes that through her writing, she can help encourage people to show more kindness and compassion to everyone around them. She asks everyone to be kind to each other as we all share this journey through life together. Lynn currently lives in the Los Angeles area with her husband and two dogs. For more information - please check out her website at www.lynnmiclea.com - thank you!
This entry was posted in meandering thoughts and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Letting Go

  1. Great post! I’ve been through a similar process … having to let go of old ideas has been the hardest but most rewarding. I love your photos here!

Leave a Reply

